Oysters have had a long association with stout. When stouts were emerging in the 18th century, oysters were a commonplace food often served in public houses and taverns. The first known brewery to use oysters as part of the brewing process was in 1938 by the Hammerton Brewery in London UK. Some modern oyster stouts may be made with a handful of oysters in the barrel, which would not make these suitable for vegetarians. Others use the name with the implication that the beer would be suitable for drinking with oysters.